Speeding With a Junior License or Restricted License in New York

Got a speeding ticket? We are here to help. Call us for a FREE consultation.
  • Fight your ticket to avoid fines, points and insurance increases
  • Save time by having an attorney appear in court on your behalf
  • Pay a flat rate fee to have your case handled by experienced lawyers

Congratulations! You just got your junior license and are ready to set out on the open road. Be careful though. As a young driver in the State of New York, you are punished extra-harshly for violating the rules of the road. Remember, driving is a privilege and the law has no problem taking it away from you if you commit serious traffic violations.

Speeding With a Junior License

If you are a junior license holder, the State of New York will suspend your license if you commit a serious traffic violation. Under New York law, a “serious traffic violation” is one that is worth 3 or more points.

Speeding even just 1 MPH over the speed limit is a 3 point offense! Consequently, if you are a junior license holder and are convicted of speeding in New York, your junior license will be taken away for 60 days.

Some other examples of other offenses that are considered “serious offenses” are: Cell phone, texting (electronic device usage), passing a school bus, and reckless driving.

Imagine: you just passed the road test after diligently practicing your parallel parking and your junior license is suspended for 2 months because you chose to go slightly faster than the posted speed limit.

You might think this is unfair. After all, what is 1mph over the speed limit really going to do? Unfortunately, speeding in New York kills more people than other traffic violation. As such, New York law comes down tough on speeding and considers it an inherently serious offense.

Similarly, as a junior license holder you will only be allowed to commit 2 minor offenses before your license will be suspended for 60 days. Any offense that is less than 3 points is considered by the State of New York to be a minor offense.

In other words, if you are convicted of backing up unsafely, a violation of VTL 1211-(a), you will not be suspended (since it is only a 2 point offense). However, if you commit the offense twice, or violate any other VTL after it, your license will be suspended.

Who Should You Contact?

If you received a NY traffic ticket and are a junior license or restricted license holder, contact Rosenblum Law today. You could be facing a suspension of your license, points, and a large fine. Our team of NY traffic ticket lawyers will do all they can to protect your legal rights, fight to keep you on the road, and will diligently work to get you the results you want. Call us today at 888-434-0406.

57 thoughts on “Speeding With a Junior License or Restricted License in New York”

  1. Helo. My son has a NJ provisional license, he is 17. He was traveling to Thanksgiving dinner out of state and was pulled over in Brewster. Apparently the speed limit changes from 65 to 55 around the area he was pulled over. He the clocked by laser going 79 in a 55. What is the best way to handle this ticket?

    1. Hello Pearce and thank you for your inquiry. Please be advised that the offense for speeding 24 miles over the limit carries a maximum 6 point penalty and, depending on where he was charged, a maximum fine of $300 with $93 court fees. Furthermore, for accumulating 6 or more points on his license, he will be charged an additional $300 for the NY imposed Driver’s Responsibility Assessment Fee. This will only transfer as 2 points onto his NJ license but will still be reported as a 6 point offense to his insurance company, which will likely incur a substantial increase to his insurance rates. We suggest contesting the matter with an attorney in an attempt to mitigate the high fines and likely substantial increase to his insurance.

  2. I was pulled over going 83 in a 55 mph zone. I was in the left lane, caught by the laser on my way to class and just following the other cars and I only have a Learner’s permit though I’m 18. It happened in the Suffolk County on exit 37 of Southern State. What should I expect?

    1. Hello Christopher and thank you for your inquiry. Please be advised that driving 28 miles over the posted speed limit carries a maximum 6 point penalty and a maximum fine of $300 with $93 court fees. Furthermore, for accumulating 6 or more points on your license, you will be charged an additional $300 for the NY imposed Driver’s Responsibility Assessment Fee. This will likely incur a substantial increase in your insurance rates for the foreseeable future and your learner’s permit will be suspended for 60 days. We suggest contesting the ticket with an attorney in order to attempt to mitigate the insurance implications, points on your license, and substantial fees.

  3. My name is Marcus. I’m 17 with a dj license. I got pulled over on the merge from I84 to the Taconic going 120 in a 65. Will my license get revoked cause of me going at that speed, or will it get suspended? I also want to know how much the fine would cost. I have to appear in court in East Fishkill.

    1. Hello Marcus and thank you for your inquiry. Please be advised that your offense of driving 55 miles over the limit carries a maximum 11 point penalty and a maximum fine of $600 with $93 court fees. Furthermore, for accumulating 6 or more points on your license, you will be charged an additional $300 for the NY imposed Driver’s Responsibility Assessment Fee. Please note that NY imposes an additional $75 for every point after 6, thus you will be assessed a total of $675 from the Driver’s Responsibility Assessment Fee alone. If you are convicted of this offense, your license will be suspended and depending on your previous driving history you may face license revocation. This offense will likely negatively affect your insurance rates for the foreseeable future. We suggest contesting this ticket with an attorney to attempt to avoid license suspension, over $1,200 in fines, and mitigate the detrimental effect this offense will likely have your premiums.

  4. Hello i am 17 with my dj class license, and I’ve received a ticket for following too close, and another two more on the same night for, going 50mph in a 30mph zone, and driving after nine. Will my license be suspended or revoked, what will happen?

    1. Hello Mallory and thank you for reaching out to us. Depending on where your infraction occurred, driving 20mph over the posted speed limit incurs a maximum 4 point penalty with a maximum fine of $300 and $93 court fee. Furthermore, your charge of “Following too Closely” carries a maximum 4 point penalty with a maximum fine of $243. These two offenses alone trigger the Driver’s Responsibility Assessment fee. This is a fee given to drivers who have accumulated 6 or more points on their license whereby they are charged an additional $300 for each point they receive after 6. Hence, your total 8 point offense between these 2 offenses, will incur a DRA Fee of $600 in addition to the $636 fine for an approximate total of $1,236. Please note, your last violation for driving after your permitted hours will also incur a fine that will increase the projected amount, in addition to that your insurance premiums will likely significantly increase due to your age and nature of the offenses. You will be suspended if you are convicted of either the speeding or tailgating offense, and might face revocation. We highly suggest contesting this ticket with an attorney to attempt to mitigate the likely insurance increase and avoid the DRA fee.

  5. My 17-year-old son has had his junior license for 13 months with no issues. He got a ticket last night for doing 75 in a 55 zone. When asked by the trooper, he did confirm he was going 75 and as such the ticket itself includes that (“supporting deposition – to support simplified traffic information”. I am fairly sure he will receive the 60-day suspension, but do you think it’s worth it to try for a reduction on the 4 points his license will receive for that speed? This occurred in the town of Dickinson Ctr, NY.

    1. Hello Mommasan and thank you for your inquiry. Being charged for driving 20 miles over the posted speed limit carries a maximum 4 point penalty with a maximum $300 fine and $93 court costs. As your son is a new driver, having 4 points on his license will likely cause a substantial increase to your insurance rates for the foreseeable future. We suggest contesting the ticket with an attorney to mitigate the impact on your insurance.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *